In 2013 he became Honorary Professor at the Griffith University, Brisbane, Australia (School of Dentistry and Oral Health.

He had received several appointments offers, such as Director in Implant Dentistry at the New York University (NYU), Professor in Implant Dentistry at the Hong Kong University, or as Professor in Oral Surgery at the University of Leeds.

Since February 2018, he is Professor and Chairman of the Department of Oral Surgery and Implantology at the Centre for Dentistry and Oral Medicine (Carolinum), Johann Wolfgang Goethe-University Frankfurt, Germany.

He is a Member of the Board of Directors of the EAO – European Association for Osseointegration, a Past President of the German Association of Oral Implantology (DGI), an Executive Board Member of the Osteology Foundation and was awarded the André Schröder Research Prize in 2007, the Miller Research Prize in 2012 and the Jan Lindhe Award in 2017.